Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Norway: Melodi Grand Prix Songs To Be Released On 15th February

Norway will reveal the full versions of their songs for their Eurovision 2017 selection show, Melodi Grand Prix, on 15th February.

In a press conference this morning the Norwegian broadcaster NRK revealed the 10 artists that will be competing in Melodi Grand Prix 2017. The line-up includes front singer of their 2005 entrant Wig Wam, now as part of the band Ammunition. During the announcement, 15 second snippets of the artist’s songs were played. Just a few hours later, it has been revealed that the full versions of these songs will be released on the 15th of February.

Participating in Melodi Grand Prix this year is:

  • Ammunition – “Wrecking Crew”
  • Ullrikke – “Places”
  • Amina Sewali – “Mesterverk”
  • JOWST – “Grab the Moment”
  • Kristian Valen – “You and I”
  • Elin & The Woods – “First step in faith/ Oadjebasvuhtii”
  • Jenny Augusta – “I Go Where You Go”
  • Rune Rudberg Band – Run Run Away
  • In Fusion – Nothing Ever Knocked Us Over

Jan Fredrik Karlsen, the Head of Delegation for Norway, has confirmed to Dagbladet that a record of 1,035 songs have been submitted to compete in MGP 2017. The team behind the Norwegian selection shortlisted around 100 songs that could have made it through to the live show, in total just ten of the songs will be competing in the final of Melodi Grand Prix as revealed this morning.

Changes are underway with the format of Melodi Grand Prix as the international juries make a return to the contest. 12 countries from across Europe will be invited to have a jury in the competition, as the country hopes this will be a better indicator of Eurovision success. Details have yet to be revealed as to how the international jury will be weighted against the public televote, but Norway has reasons to be hopeful it will help bring the country Eurovision success. In both 1985 and 1995 when Norway won the contest, international juries were involved in selecting their entry for the contest.

The selection will be hosted by Kåre Magnus, who has hosted Melodi Grand Prix for the past two years, joined by a new co-presenter, Line Elvsåshagen. Line has previously had experience with the Eurovision Song Contest, in 2014 she formed part of the alternative commentary for the final on NRK3.

Source: NRK

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”Norway in the Eurovision Song Contest”]
Norway debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1960 and have won the contest on three occasions. The country has the dubious record of finishing last a total of eleven times, of which four songs received nul points. Norway last won the contest in 2009 when Alexander Rybak broke all records with his song “Fairytale”. In the final he scored 387 points, receiving 16 sets of 12 points and scoring points from all of the competing countries.

Leave a Comment