Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Tonight: Melodifestivalen Begins in Sweden, Vidbir Gets Underway in Ukraine

The selection behemoth of Melodifestivalen gets underway tonight and host nation Ukraine starts their search. While in Lithuania and Hungary continue their search for Kyiv.

Two selections begin tonight, this years host nation Ukraine begins their search, while last years hosts Sweden starts the biggest selection process of the Eurovision season. Lithuania and Hungary

Ukraine – Vidbir – Semi Final One – 18:00 CET

A total eight artists are competing in the first semi final of Vidbir, with two or three artists qualifying for the final.

The qualifiers tonight will be selected by 50% public televote and 50% jury voting. On the expert jury are; Konstantin Meladze, Jamala (Winner of Eurovision 2016) and Andriy Danylko (Represented Ukraine at Eurovision 2007 as Verka Seduchka).


The running order for tonight is as follows:

  1. SKAI – All My Love For You
  2. Roma Veremeychik and Lumiere – Make It Real
  3. Monochromea – Blue Bord
  4. Laliko – Sugar Whisper
  5. Salto Nazad – O, mamo!
  6. MamaRika – We Are One
  7. Tayanna – I Love You
  8. Arsen Mirzoyan – Geraldine

The selection will be taking a pause between 20:30 CET and 21:30 CET.

Freddie represented Hungary in 2016

Hungary – A Dal – 19:30 CET

Hungary continues their search for Kyiv, Ukraine tonight with 10 artists taking to Budapest. The first three shows in the series will be A Dal are heats with 10 songs in each show competing for six places in the two semi finals.


Competing tonight are:

  • Joci Pápai – Origo
  • Orsi Sapszon – Hunyd le szemed
  • The Couple – Vége van
  • Zävodi + Olivér Berkes – #háttérzaj
  • Kyra Fedor – Got to Be a Day
  • Enikő Muri – Jericho
  • Benjámin Pál – Father’s Eyes
  • Gigi Radics – See It Through
  • Soulwave – Kalandor
  • Totova – Hosszú idők

The format of this year’s voting will effectively remain the same, but with one vital change – this year the first five qualifiers will be decided by a 50-50 jury and public vote. The sixth qualifier will still be decided by a 100% public vote.

Sweden – Melodifestivalen – 20:00 CET

Melodifestivalen 2017 begins with the show’s first semi final, to be held in Goteborg. Four of the seven performing artists are returning to the contest while three artists are new to the selection. Tonight’s show is hosted by Hasse Andersson, Clara Henry and David Lindgren.

  1. Boris René – Her Kiss
  2. Adrijana – Amare
  3. Dinah Nah – One More Night
  4. De Vet Du – Road Trip
  5. Charlotte Perelli – Mitt liv
  6. Ace Wilder – Wild Child
  7. Nano – Hold On


The top two most voted for artists will go straight to the final of Melodifestivalen, while third and fourth place will go through to Andra Chasen (Second chance). The remaining three acts will be knocked out of the competition.

Donny Montell
Donny Montell represented Lithuania in 2016

Lithuania – Eurovizijos Atranka – 20:00 CET

12 singers will be returning to the Eurovizijos stage all competing for just eight places in the next round of the selection process.

The Lithuanian jury is comprised of LRT executive Darius Užkuraitis, musicologist Ramūnas Zilnys, opera singer Nomeda Kazlaus, and conductor Gintaras Rinkevičius. This jury will make up 25% of the vote. A further 25% of the vote will come from an as yet undisclosed international jury of music experts. The remaining 50% shall come from the public televote.

The running order for the show is as follows (Jury votes):

  1. E.G.O – My Story ~ 2 points
  2. Benas Malakauskas – Rolling ~ 4  points
  3. Otreya – Last Two Weeks ~ 3 points
  4. Edgaras Lubys – Could It Be? ~ 8 points
  5. Milda Martinkėnaitė & Saulenė Chlevickaitė – Paperheart ~ 1 point
  6. Ieva Zasimauskaitė– You Saved Me ~ 12 points
  7. Gytis Ivanauskas – Get Frighten ~ 7 points
  8. Valdas Lacko – It’s So Unfair ~ 2 points
  9. Paula – Let U Go ~ 7 points
  10. Gražvydas – Paint The Sky Blue ~ 5 points
  11. Fusedmarc – Rain of Revolution  ~ 12 points
  12. Gabrielius Vagelis – Feel Myself Free ~ 6 points


The final will be held on March 11 with at least six singers competing for the right to represent Lithuania at the 62nd edition of the Eurovision Song Contest in Kyiv Ukraine. The qualifiers tonight will be selected by 50% jury voting and then 50% public televoting.

Leave a Comment