Georgian broadcaster GBP and the European Broadcasting Union have announced that the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2017 will take place in Georgia.

Last year’s winners of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest, Georgia, had the first option to host the 2017 contest, and the broadcaster, GBP, had agreed to host, after being in talks with the EBU since 22nd November 2016. This will be the 15th contest since Junior Eurovision started in 2003.

The EBU’s Head of Live Events, Jon Ola Sand, said: “The EBU are delighted to announce that GPB will be the host broadcaster of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2017. As Georgia has won the JESC the most times we are pleased that we can finally bring Europe’s favourite youth show to a new country that has shown such dedication to the Contest. Last year’s competition showed that JESC is an invaluable platform for public service broadcasters to support their young talent, and we have full confidence that GPB will host another great show this November”.

Georgia have won the contest on three occasions, making them the country with the most victories throughout the history of the contest. Georgia debuted in JESC in 2007 with Mariam Romelashvili and her song “Odelia Ranuni”, where she placed 4th with 116 points. Their first win was just a year later in 2008, with the trio Bzikebi and their song “Bzz”. Their second win was in 2011 with the group Candy and their song “Candy Music”. Most recently in 2016 eleven year old Mariam Mamadashvili performed her song Mzeo in JESC 2016 host city Malta, and took the victory with 239 points. This will be the first time that Georgia will host any Eurovision event.

Georgia now joins the list of confirmed countries for Junior Eurovision 2017. The other confirmed countries are:

  • Belarus
  • Cyprus
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • The Netherlands
  • Russia

More information on the venue, dates, tickets and accreditation will be announced in the upcoming months.