Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

San Marino RTV has ruled out debuting in Eurovision Young Dancers this June when the contest will be held in Malta.

San Marino RTV has confirmed to that they will not be participating in the 15th edition of Eurovision Young Dancers. Had San Marino opted to to participate in Eurovision Young Dancers 2017 they would have been the 38th country to take part in the contest since it was first held in 1985. Eurovision Young Dancers remains the only Eurovision contest format that the country has not participated in. In 2016 San Marino made their first appearance in Eurovision Young Musicians, while they withdrew from Junior Eurovision after three years of participation.

Eurovision Young Dancers has seen countries debut in all editions of the contest held to date excluding the 2005 contest in Warsaw, Poland. The last time Eurovision Young Dancers was held in 2015, two countries made their debut in the contest. Malta this years host nation was represented by Anthea Zammit, while Albania was represented by Klaudio Begaj.

To date six countries have confirmed that they will be participating in this years contest. They are:

  • Czech Republic
  • Germany
  • Malta (Host Nation)
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Slovenia

Malta will be hosting Eurovision Young Dancers 2017 on 9th June. The venue for the contest has not been confirmed but PBS has stated that they wish to hold the contest in the open air. This will be the first time that Malta has hosted the contest having only started participating in the contest in 2015.

The last edition of Eurovision Young Dancers was held in 2015, the venue for the contest was the New Theatre in Pilsen. A total of 10 countries competed with debuts from Albania and Malta. The contest was won by Viktoria Nowak from Poland.

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”What is Eurovision Young Dancers?”]
First held in 1985 a total of 37 countries have competed at least once in the contest, including Canada in 1987. The competition is open to young dancers who are aged between 16 and 21 years old. Each country is represented by either a solo dancer or a couple, who perform a routine of their choosing for the jury. The jury will select two acts to go through to the final round which is a 90 second dance off. Each dancer is given 45 seconds to perform and impress the judges, at the end of the performances the judges select the winner.

Leave a Comment