LRT has confirmed that they will select their entrant for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 in Kyiv, Ukraine on March 11.

Lithuania’s search for their Eurovision 2017 participant gets underway on January 7th as “Eurovizijos” begins. A total of 10 shows will be held between January 7th and March 11 to decide the Lithuanian entrant in next years Eurovision Song Contest.

A number of small changes have been made to the selection process following discussions with participants in the competition. Performers will now no longer have to perform in the selection process on a weekly basis. Instead of the shows seeing just one singer leaving on a weekly basis, if there are 10 singers in a show then only five will make it through to the next show.

Eurovizijos will begin on January 7. In total 51 singers will be taking part in the selection with the first few shows featuring between 12 and 13 performers each. There are two former Eurovision entrants in the list of participants Sasha Song (2009) and Vilija Matačiūnaitė (2014).

The full list of participants is as follows:

  • Golden monkeys
  • Otreya
  • Augustė Vedrickaitė
  • Edgaras Lubys
  • Tadas Rimgaila & Tina
  • Sasha Song
  • RūtaAndruškevičiūtė
  • Benas Malakauskas
  • Audrius Petrauskas
  • Justin 3
  • Dagna Kondratavičiūtė
  • Paula Valentaitė
  • Valdas Lacko
  • Monika Mėčiūtė
  • Rugilė Daujotaitė
  • Kotryna Juodzevičiūtė
  • Deividas Žygas
  • Mia
  • Rasa Kaušiūtė
  • Lawreigna
  • Varjetė
  • E.G.O.
  • Gabrielius Vagelis
  • Ieva Zasimauskaitė
  • Vidas Bareikis
  • Marius Petrauskas
  • Milda Martinkėnaitė & Saulenė Chlevickaitė
  • Lolita
  • Fusedmarc
  • Erika Astrauskaitė
  • Hit
  • Virgis Valuntonis
  • Gražvydas
  • Greta Zazza
  • Vilija Matačiūnaitė
  • Dovydas Petrošius
  • Strėlės
  • Alanas Chošnau
  • Valerija Iljinaitė
  • Ruslanas Kirilkinas
  • Vlad Max
  • Queens Of Roses
  • Evaldas Vaikasas
  • Elvina Milkauskaitė
  • Aistė Pilvelytė
  • Julija Jegorova
  • Audrius Janonis
  • Soliaris
  • Rasa Vaštakaitė-Shiny Raia
  • Neringa Šiaudikytė

For the first four shows the Lithuanian public and the jury will select the singers going through to the next round. However from the fifth show onwards an international jury will be voting alongside the in studio jury and the Lithuanian public. At least six singers will be competing in the final on March 11.

Source: LRT

Lithuania debuted in the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994, however on their debut they finished in last place with nul points. Lithuania didn’t return to the contest until 1999 when Aiste finished 20th with the song “Strazdas”. Lithuania’s best result came in 2006 when LT United performed “We Are The Winners”, they finished 6th in the final with a total of 162 points. Lithuania’s only other top.10 finish came in 2016 when Donny Montell performed “I’ve Been Waiting For This Night” in Stockholm, he received 12 points from the public in Ireland, Norway & United Kingdom.