Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

SVT’s flagship show, Melodifestivalen, is back and it’s better than ever before with one of the most incredible line-ups imaginable. David Lindgren, one of this year’s three hosts, took to the stage this morning to announce the twenty-eight artists that will fight to represent Sweden in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017.

A total of 2,478 songs were submitted to SVT, up by twenty-eight from last year but is still 1,400 short of the 2011 record when 3,832 songs were submitted. This year a total of 362 songs were submitted through the public contest, this was for singers or songwriters who had not released a song commercially before. This figure is the lowest it has been since the public were given a separate round in 2010.

Artist: Adrijana
Writers: Martin Tjärnberg, Adrijana Krasniqi
Her Kiss
Artist: Boris René
Writers: Tim Larsson, Tobias Lundgren
Hold On
Artist: Nano
Writers: Nano Omar, Gino Yonan, Ayak, Carl Rydén, Christoffer Belaieff, Rikard de Bruin, David
Francis Jackson
Mitt liv
Artist: Charlotte Perrelli
Writers: Charlotte Perrelli, Lars Hägglund
One More Night
Artist: Dinah Nah
Writers: Thomas G:son, Jimmy Jansson, Dinah Nah, Dr Alban
Road Trip
Artist: De Vet Du
Writers: Johan Gunterberg, Christopher Martland
Wild Child
Artist: Ace Wilder
Writers: Peter Boström, Thomas G:son, Ace Wilder

In semi-final one, we see four returning artists – Boris Rene attempts to represent the nation once again with a song from Tim Larsson. Dinah Nah attempts a song written by Thomas G:son and Dr Alban, and Charlotte Perrelli takes on a self-written track. Ace Wilder also makes a return after her successful entry ‘Don’t Worry’ last year. For the first time, Ace Wilder’s song will not be written by the Debs, but instead by G:son and Boström.


A Million Years
Artist: Mariette
Writers: Thomas G:son, Johanna Jansson, Peter Boström, Mariette Hansson, Jenny Hansson
Good Loovin’
Artist: Benjamin Ingrosso
Writers: Benjamin Ingrosso, Louis Schoorl, Matt Pardon, MAG
Hearts Align
Artist: Dismissed
Writers: Ola Salo, Peter Kvint
Himmel och hav
Artist: Roger Pontare
Writers: Thomas G:son, Alexzandra Wickman
I Don’t Give A
Artist: Lisa Ajax
Writers: Ola Svensson, Linnea Deb, Joy Deb, Anton Hård af Segerstad
Artist: Etzia
Writers: Johnny Sanchez, Hanif Sabzevari, Simon Gribbe, Erica Haylett
Vart haru varit
Artist: Allyawan
Writers: Masse Salazar, Samuel Nazari

Semi-final two consists of mostly debuting artists with the likes of Benjamin Ingrosso participating for the first time. Idol winner Lisa Ajax returns to the contest in 2017 with a song written by Joy and Linnea Deb. Mariette, behind “Don’t Stop Believing”, returns with a G:son penned track, “A Million Years”. Ola Salo writes “Align”, to be performed by the debuting group – ‘Dimissed’. Finally, two-time winner of the contest Roger Pontare takes G:son’s “Himmel och hav”

Boogieman Blues
Artist: Owe Thörnqvist
Writers: Owe Thörnqvist
Artist: Bella & Filippa
Writers: Peter Hägerås, Mats Frisell, Jakob Stadell, Filippa Frisell, Isabella Snihs
Gotta Thing
Artist: The Fooo Conspiracy
Writers: Robert ”Mutt” Lange, Tony Nilsson
Artist: Jasmine Kara
Writers: Anderz Wrethov, Jasmine Kara
I Can’t Go On
Artist: Robin Bengtsson
Writers: David Kreuger, Hamed ”K-One” Pirouzpanah, Robin Stjernberg
Kiss You Goodbye
Artist: Anton Hagman
Writers: Christian Fast, Tim Schou, Henrik Nordenback
Snurra min jord
Artist: Krista Siegfrids
Writers: Krista Siegfrids, Gustaf Svenungsson, Magnus Wallin, Gabriel Alares

The third semi-final says hello to UMK host, Krista Siegfrids, the 2013 Finnish entrant who also attempted to represent Sweden last year with “Faller”. Idol participant Robin Bengtsson also returns after success in last year’s edition with a song penned by David Kreuger, Hamed ”K-One” Pirouzpanah and Robin Stjernberg. MTV EMA nominees The Fooo Conspiracy are also set to make their debut in the contest. Tim Schou, the lead singer in the group ‘A Friend in London’ who represented Denmark in Eurovision 2011, has penned a song for Anton Hagman who will debut in 2017.

As I Lay Me Down
Artist: Wiktoria
Writers: Justin Forrest, Jonas Wallin, Lauren Dyson
Bound To Fall
Artist: Les Gordons
Writers: Jonatan Renström, Albert Björliden, Andreas Persson, Carl Ragnemyr, David Runebjörk,
Jimmy Jansson
Du får inte ändra på mig
Artist: Sara Varga och Juha Mulari
Writers: Sara Varga, Lars Hägglund
En värld full av strider
Artist: Jon Henrik Fjällgren feat. Aninia
Writers: Jon Henrik Fjällgren, Sara Biglert, Christian Schneider, Andreas Hedlund
När ingen ser
Artist: Axel Schylström
Writers: Behshad Ashnai, Axel Schylström, David Strääf
Running with Lions
Artist: Alice
Writers: Anderz Wrethov, Andreas ”Stone” Johansson, Denniz Jamm, Alice Svensson
Artist: Loreen
Writers: Anton Hård af Segerstad, Joy Deb, Linnea Deb, Loreen

Finally, the fourth semi-final welcomes a host of returning artists and this year’s headline artist. Melodifestivalen and Eurovision winner, Loreen, returns for the first time since 2012 with a song written by the Debs, Wiktoria also makes a return after her successful entry “Save Me” last year, and Jon Henrik makes a comeback accompanied by Aninia.

Clara Henry, Hasse Andersson and David Lindgren were announced as the hosts of next year’s edition. The trio was announced during a fifteen-minute broadcast and press conference on SVT Play. Introduced as “SVT’s flagship show”, Melodifestivalen enters its 58th year as the selection process used to select Sweden’s Eurovision participant.

5 thoughts on “Melodifestivalen 2017 Participants Revealed”

  1. Why does Eurovision 2012 winner Loreen compete in Melodifestivalen? It doesn’t make sense. Maybe I want Ace Wilder to win Melodifestivalen!

  2. Ace… Loreen… Wiktoria… Perelli… Mariette… IT IS NOT A NATIONAL SELECTION, IT’S A REAL SONG C0NTEST!!1!!1!111

Leave a Comment