Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Clara Henry, Hasse Andersson and David Lindgren to host Melodifestivalen

Clara Henry, Hasse Andersson and David Lindgren have been announced as the hosts of Melodifestivalen 2017 taking place next spring. The trio was announced during a fifteen-minute broadcast and press conference on SVT Play earlier this morning. Introduced as “SVT’s flagship show”, Melodifestivalen enters its 58th year as the selection process used to select Sweden’s Eurovision participant.

Clara Henry is a well known YouTube star, ‘vlogging’ every Monday, her witty one-liners and self-inflicted jokes. She is a prominent figure in terms of recognising and actively endorsing feminism in the country, last year releasing her first book ‘Ja, jag har mens hur så?’, or ‘Yes, I have periods, so what?’ – tackling sexism, inequality and self-belief of the 21st century. Not a newcomer to Melodifestivalen, Clara Henry presented the flagship’s after show in 2014 – interviewing the artists and discussing the evening’s event.

Hasse Andersson entered Melodifestivalen in 2015 with ‘Guld och gröna skogar’, finishing fourth. Known prior to his entry as an artist – Hasse released his first charting album in 1982. In total, Hasse has released ten albums and one ‘best of’ album, only one of which (Guld och gröna skogar) reached number one. At the age of sixty-eight, Hasse is this year’s oldest presenter.

Melodfestivalen Hosts 2017
Melodfestivalen Hosts 2017

Last year’s host, Gina Diwari, had the pleasure of introducing this year’s third presenter as a competing artist. David Lindgren performed ‘We Are Your Tomorrow’, finishing eighth on this, his third attempt. First competing with ‘Shout it Out’ in 2012 and ‘Skyline’ in 2013, David was, somewhat, born around his Melodifestivalen participation.

All three of this year’s hosts have links to the contest and will no doubt be welcomed by Swedish audiences as three familiar names. Clara, though not known for it, has a great voice – so expect this musical trio to come out with some of Melodifestivalen’s classic interval acts.

1 thought on “Clara Henry, Hasse Andersson and David Lindgren to host Melodifestivalen”

Leave a Comment