Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Tonight 11 young musicians from across Europe will take to the stage in Cologne, Germany all hoping that they will be named Eurovision Young Musician 2016.

From 20:00 CET 11 of the best young musicians from across Europe will be taking to the stage at the steps of Cologne Cathedral all hoping to be named Eurovision Young Musician 2016. The contest which was last held in 2014 is returning to Cologne for a second contest running and will hoping to replicate the talent and atmosphere on display last time.

For the first time in the contest 34 year history San Marino will be taking to the stage of Eurovision Young Musicians, represented by Francesco Stefanelli. He will be joined on stage by the competitions youngest participant Dmitry Ishkhanov of Malta at just 11 years old, as well as Germany’s very own Raul Maria Dignola.

Ziyu He won for Austria in 2014
Ziyu He won for Austria in 2014

How the competition will work:

The competition tonight will see the 11 young musicians aged between 11 and 19 take to the stage for a total of 6 and a half minutes each. They will be performing a piece of their choosing for the assembled public and the five members of the jury. The jury which is made up of classical musicians will provide feedback after each performance and score the participants. These scores will not be made public to the audience or the performer, we will only know the results when the top three are announced at the end of the show.

The jury:

The five member jury for Eurovision Young Musicians 2016 is as follows;

  • Alice Sara Ott – The German-Japanese pianist Alice Sara Ott has been named as one of most promising young classical talents in the world. She has already received numerous awards, including the ECHO Klassik in 2010 as a young artist of the year.
  • Andreas Martin Hofmeir – In 2013 he received the ECHO Klassik Instrumentalist of the Year, becoming the first tuba player to receive the award. He is currently a professor teaching in Salzburg as well as a founding member of the group LaBrassBanda.
  • Julian Rachlin – In 1988 he represent Austria at the Eurovision Young Musicians contest, he won the contest performing Concerto for violin and orchestra in d, op.22 by H. Wieniawski.
  • Jonathan Ceho – One of the best young musicians in the United Kingdom, in 2010 he founded the group Arcangelo which perform both historic and modern instruments.
  • Tine Thing Helseth – She represented Norway at the Eurovision Young Musicians contest in 2006 finishing 2nd. She has gone on to perform with the Vienna Philharmonic and the Norwegian Chamber Orchestra. In 2013 she received the ECHO Klassik as Young Artist of the year.
Łukasz Dyczko from Poland
Łukasz Dyczko from Poland

The running order:

The show will open with Hungary with the final performance of the evening coming from the winning country of the 2012 contest, Norway.

  1. Hungary – Jakab Roland Attila – Violin – Pablo de Sarasate – Zigeunerweisen op. 20, no. 1
  2. Malta – Dmitry Ishkhanov – Piano – Dmitri Kabalevsky – Piano Concerto no. 3, op. 50, Allegro Molto
  3. Austria – Dominik Wagner- Double Bass – Sergei Alexandrowitsch Kussewizki Concerto for Double Bass and Orchestra, Allegro with cadenza
  4. Poland – Łukasz Dyczko – Saxophone – André Waignein – Rhapsody pour Saxophone alto
  5. Sweden – Elliot Nordqvist – Piano – Camille Saint-Saëns – Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, op. 22, Andante sostenuto
  6. Slovenia – Zala Vidic – Cello – Pyotr Ilych Tchaikovsky – Rococo Variations, VI: Andante, VII e coda: Allegro Vivo
  7. Croatia – Marko Martinović – Tamburitza – Jules Massenet – Meditationen (from the Opera Thaïs)
  8. San Marino – Francesco Stefanelli – Cello – Dmitry Schostakowitsch – Cello Concerto Nr. 1, Allegretto
  9. Germany – Raul Maria Dignola – Horn – Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart – Horn Concerto no. 2, Allegro Maestoso
  10. Czech Republic – Robert Bílý – Piano – Samuel Barber – Piano Concerto, op. 38, Allegro Molto
  11. Norway – Ludvig Gudim – Violin – Franz Waxman – Carmen Fantasie

Where to watch the show:

The show will start at 20:00 CET and finish at 22:00 CET, the following broadcasters are broadcasting the show live:

  • Croatia – HRT 2
  • Czech Republic – CT Art
  • Germany – WDR 3
  • Hungary – Duna
  • Malta – TVM 2
  • Norway – NRK 2
  • Poland – TVP Kultura
  • San Marino – SMRTV
  • Slovenia – RTVSLO 2
  • Sweden – SVT 2

You will also able to watch the show broadcast live on here. Austria will be broadcasting the contest on delay on the 11th of September on ORF 2.

We wish all of the eleven participants the best of luck in Cologne, and we hope that you enjoy the show.

1 thought on “Tonight: The Final of Eurovision Young Musicians 2016”

Leave a Comment