Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

Montenegro: Withdraws From The Junior Eurovision Song Contest

RTCG the national broadcaster of Montenegro has confirmed this afternoon that they will not be participating in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2016.

Montenegro has become the third country to withdraw from this years Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Valletta, Malta. Montenegro debuted in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest two years ago when the contest was last in Malta. They were represented by Maša Vujadinović and Lejla Vulić with the song “Budi dijete na jedan dan”, they finished 14th in the final scoring a total of 24 points.

The country again participated in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest last year in Sofia, Bulgaria. RTCG once again opted for an internal selection, picking Jana Mirković with the song “Oluja”. In the final she finished in 13th place scoring a total of 36 points, with eight points coming from both Serbia and Macedonia.

Montenegro has not given a reason as to why they have withdrawn from the contest, however it is likely to be due to issues securing funding to compete in the contest. Montenegro joins San Marino and Slovenia in withdrawing from this years contest which will be held on November 20.

To date 14 countries have confirmed their participation in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2016, with both Poland and Cyprus returning to the contest. Australia and Serbia are the only countries who competed last year, yet to make any public announcements about participation.

Source: RTCG

[tw-accordion class=””]
[tw-accordion-section title=”What is the Junior Eurovision Song Contest?”]
The Junior Eurovision Song Contest was first held in Copenhagen, Denmark in 2003 with the contest being won by Croatia who were represented by Dino Jelušić and “Ti si moja prva ljubav”. The contest is open to singers aged between 10 and 15, singers must also perform at least 75% of their song in the language of their country. Since the first contest singers from Italy, Belarus and the Netherlands to name just a handful have won the contest. This years contest is being held on November 20 in the Maltese Capital.

21 thoughts on “Montenegro: Withdraws From The Junior Eurovision Song Contest”

    1. It’s sad to see 3 countries leaving Junior Eurovision :-(. But I still have big hope in Serbia, France and Israel to participate.

  1. I almost predicted this to happen. Well, I should not say anything regarding my likes/dislikes to this descision since there will be a meeting next week regarding the rule changes (REVERSE TELEVOTING REMOVAL!!!) 🙂

      1. Exactly! Children go out and play on Sunday afternoons, doesn’t matter if it’s raining or snowing. Let’s cross our fingers for this coming week when the EBU is set to have a meeting regarding the rule changes, hopefully they will make up their minds.

          1. Becca, don’t worry. Just because such a small country like Montenegro withdraws along with two other small countries doesn’t mean that JESC is gonna die. 🙂 It would’ve been different if for example Russia, the Netherlands and Belarus withdrew due to the new rule changes, since all of them are super powers (in different ways) in Junior Eurovision, and the EBU don’t want to lose them. It’s till not known if more countries will withdraw, and if they do so due to the new rules then the EBU should reconsider since Australia may be next to withdraw.

  2. Oh no! 🙁 So sad. I think the EBU has to reverse all the rull changes. I think Slovenia and Montenegro withdrew due to the rules changes 🙁

      1. Albania. Or Bosnia and Herzegovina. No, just kidding, they are never gonna debut… But Albania could give you 12 points, if you enter with a strong song 🙂

        1. …and Macedonia really has that potential! They had strong entries in back in 2004, 2007 and 2008. If you can send such a song again with many more modern elements you will succed. I wish you the best, Macedonia! 😀

  3. Since Montenegro withdrew, I will not let the UK participate. With my countries that still waiting to confirm participation are France, Spain, Serbia and Germany.

Leave a Comment