Press Enter / Return to begin your search.

ESC’16: Jury Members Announced

Molly Sterling represented Ireland in Vienna
Molly Sterling represented Ireland in Vienna

The members of the juries from the 43 competing countries have been announced this afternoon by the European Broadcasting Union.

The jury this year will have their points announced separately from the televote meaning that neither low voting from the jury or televote when it is combined can pull down the results. To be a member of the jury for Eurovision the following rules must be met:

  • Must not have been part of a Eurovision jury in the past two years
  • Must be 16 by the date of the final
  • Cannot be an employee of the participating broadcaster
  • Must pursue a profession in or related to the music industry;
  • Must be a citizen of the country they are voting for
  • Shall be connected in any way with any of the participating songs entered and/or artists performing in the contest in such a way that they cannot vote in complete independence and impartiality.

The jury is also filled with familiar names from previous contests:

  • Albania – Kesji Tola (2009)
  • Belarus – Teo (2014)
  • Belgium – Axel Hirsoux (2014)
  • Denmark – Basim (2014)
  • Hungary – Kati Wolf (2011)
  • Ireland – Molly Sterling (2015)
  • Poland – Monika Kuszyńska (2015)
  • Serbia – Bojana Stamenov (2015)
  • Slovenia – Marjetka Vovk (2015)

Source: EBU

Leave a Comment