Press Enter / Return to begin your search.
The Road to Stockholm continues
The Road to Stockholm continues

Tonight it’s the turn of Iceland to select their singer for Stockholm as Songvakeppnin 2016 is held in Reykjavik. While five other selections are held across Europe as we edge closer to the semi finals this May.


Iceland – Songvakeppnin 2016 – Final – 21:00 CET:

Iceland decides tonight
Iceland decides tonight

Tonight Iceland will select who represents them at the 61st edition of the Eurovision Song Contest.

The Icelandic selection has already held two semi finals and has whittled down to the final six singers. The singers going into the final were given the option to sing in either Icelandic or English, the performance they give tonight will be in the language they shall perform in Stockholm.

As part of celebrations marking 30 years since Iceland debuted in the contest there will be special performances from Loreen (Eurovision 2012 winner) and Sandra Kim (Eurovision 1986 winner). Furthermore a medley of past Icelandic Eurovision entries will be performed by an array of former Icelandic Eurovision singers.

The winner tonight will be selected in two parts, the first part will see the public and jury voting to decide two singers to go through to the super final. In the super final a 100% public vote will decide the act representing them in Stockholm. The jury tonight is made up of 18 people made up of three members each from the following regions:

  • Northwest
  • Northeast
  • South
  • Southwest
  • Reykjavik North
  • Reykjavik South

The running order is as follows:

  1. Hear Them Calling – Greta Salóme Stefánsdóttir
  2. I Promised You Then – Hjörtur Traustason & Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir
  3. Eye of the Storm – Karlotta Sigurðardóttir
  4. Ready to Break Free – Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir & Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson
  5. Á ný – Elísabet Ormslev
  6. Now – Alda Dís Arnardóttir

The final is live on from 21:00 CET.

Selection Stages:

Hungary – A DAL – Semi Final Two – 19:40 CET:

The last semi final is tonight
The last semi final is tonight

The final semi final of the Hungarian selection is live from Budapest tonight, only four singers will qualify tonight for the final.

The show will take place in two parts, the first sees all 10 singers performing with 3 qualifiers selectbed by a combination of jury voting and public voting based on SMS, mobile app and online voting. The six songs that did not get through the first vote will be voted on again by the public who will select 1 more singer for the final.

Competing tonight are:

  • André Vásáry – Why
  • ByTheWay – Free To Fly
  • Egy Másik Zenekar – Kéne közös kép
  • Freddie – Pioneer
  • Laci Gáspár – Love and Bass
  • Nika – Emlékkép
  • Olivér Berkes & Andi Tóth – Seven Seas
  • Parno Graszt – Már nem szédülök
  • Passed – Driftin

Sweden – Melodifestivalen – Semi Final 3 – 20:00 CET:

Who will qualify tonight?
Who will qualify tonight?

Melodifestivalen makes their way to Norrköping as the third semi final of the selection process is held.

As always the host of the show is Gina Dirawi who was due to be joined by Henrik Schyffert. As ever the two most popular songs will go direct to the Friends Arena final, while the songs that place 3rd and 4th will have to go into Andra Chansen.

The running order is as follows:

1. SaRaha – ”Kizunguzungu”
2. Swingfly Feat. Helena Gutarra – ”You Carved Your Name”
3. SMILO – ”Weight of the World”
4. After Dark – ”Kom ut som en stjärna”
5. Lisa Ajax – ”My Heart Wants Me Dead”
6. Boris René – ”Put Your Love On Me”
7. Oscar Zia – ”Human”

The semi final is live on from 20:00 CET.

Finland – UMK 2016 – 20:00 CET:

Last semi final in Finland
Last semi final in Finland

The third and final semi final of UMK 2016 takes place this evening in Finland with six singers taking to the stage.

Three singers will qualify for the final with the results decided by 100% televote. Krista Siegfrids returns as a host this week alongside Roope Salminen. The singers competing tonight are:

  1. Lieminen – Pehmeiden arvojen vaalijat
  2. Tuuli Okkonen – Don’t Wake Me Up
  3. Gušani Brothers – Poom Poom
  4. Barbe-Q-Barbies – Let Me Out
  5. Pietarin Spektaakkeli – Liian kuuma
  6. Sandhja – Sing It Away

Lithuania – Eurovizijos – Show Seven – 20:00 CET:

The search continues in Lithuania
The search continues in Lithuania

Eight singers are taking to the stage in the sixth show of the Lithuanian selection process tonight.

The qualifiers from tonight’s show will be decided by a combination of televote, Lithuanian jury vote and international jury voting. Only five singers are expected to make it through to the next stage of the selection process.

The running order is as follows:

  1. E.G.O – Long Way From Home
  2. 4 Roses – Butterfly
  3. Ieva Zasimauskaitė – Life (Not That Beautiful)
  4. Aistė Pilvelytė – You Bet
  5. Ruslanas Kirilkinas – In My World
  6. Milda Martinkėnaitė – If Tomorrow Never Comes
  7. Neringa Šiaudikytė – Never Knew Love
  8. Saulenė Chlevickaitė – Strong

Estonia – Eesti Laul – Semi Final 2 – 20:35 CET:

Five singers will qualify for the final
Five singers will qualify for the final

Estonia hold’s the second semi final of their selection process for Stockholm “Eesti Laul” tonight from 20:35 CET.

A total of 10 singers are competing for 5 places in the final tonight. The performances in the show were filmed on February 5 while the show will be coming live from the Estonia Theatre in Tallinn. The 5 qualifiers will be selected by a combination of jury and public voting.

The running order is as follows:

  1. Go Away Bird – Sally
  2. Jüri Pootsmann – Play
  3. Meisterjaan – Parmupillihullus
  4. I Wear* Experiment – Patience
  5. Púr Múdd – Meet Halfway
  6. Grete Paia – Stories Untold
  7. Põhja-Tallinn – Ei ole mul olla
  8. Anett Kulbin – Strong
  9. Gertu Pabbo – Miljon korda
  10. La La Ladies – Unikaalne

3 thoughts on “Tonight: Iceland Selects For Eurovision 2016, Plus More Selections”

    1. Some parts of the two songs are similar, the two refrains is having quite the same build. On whole though I think they’re not the same. 🙂

  1. My points prior to Melodifestivalen (0-5 pts):
    SaRaha / 5 p
    Swingfly / 3
    SMILO / 0
    After Dark / 3
    Lisa Ajax / 4
    Boris René / 5
    Oscar Zia / 4

Leave a Comment