Press Enter / Return to begin your search.
2 Debuting, 3 Returning
2 Debuting, 3 Returning

The EBU have today confirmed the 14 countries that will be taking part in Eurovision Young Musicians 2014. 14 countries is the maximum number allowed to take part in the contest due to format constraints.

The countries taking part are:

  • Austria (ORF)
  • Croatia (HRT)
  • Czech Rep (CT)
  • Germany (WDR)
  • Greece (HPRT)
  • Hungary (MTVA)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Moldova (TRM)
  • The Netherlands (NTR)
  • Norway (NRK)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  • Sweden (SVT)

This year sees the return of three countries to the contest, these are Hungary who last took part in 2000, Sweden who returns after a 2 contest break, and Portugal who is back for the first time since 1996. Debuting in this years contest are Malta and Moldova who both also taking part in Eurovision Song Contest and the Junior Eurovision Contest.The countries however that are withdrawing this year are Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Georgia and Ukraine, however some of these countries had wanted to take part.

Executive Supervisor Vladislav Yakovlev  “Eurovision Young Musicians received a lot of interest in 2014, and actually we have had to make a ‘waiting list’ for a couple of countries after we hit the maximum of 14. Whilst we’re sorry that they cannot be in Cologne, I am very pleased and excited to see so much enthusiasm for this year’s competition”.

The contest takes place on May 31st in Cologne, Germany.


Leave a Comment