Press Enter / Return to begin your search.
EDC Launched In 2007 Hosted By The BBC

I was thinking today when I came across the Eurovision Dance contest what caused it just to suddenly disappear of the face of the earth after just 2 contest. So let’s delve into the background of the contest. The contest was inspired by the 2004 remake of the BBC show “Come Dancing” which came back as “Strictly Come Dancing” which is a huge hit with audiences across the world and currently shows in 33 countries around the world as of 2011. The contest came in addition to the Eurovision Song Contest as the EBU newest venture since Junior Eurovision in 2003. On May 9th 2007 the International Dance Sport Federation announced its association with the Eurovision Song Contest. The IDSF credits the contest to Richard Bunn of RBI network, Geneva, former EBU controller of sport, who convinced the EBU to create this TV programme.

The rules for this first contest were that the competition consisted of pairs of dancers from each participating country, each pair performing one dance, a freestyle dance in which the cultures of the individual countries can be showcased to the rest of Europe. In addition to being judged by a panel of experts in the arena, the European audience cast their vote for their favourite couple via telephone or text messaging to determine winner of the competition. The first contest was scheduled for the 1st of September 2007, in London, United Kingdom.

Eurovision Dance Contest 2007:

2007 Contest In London

The contest was jointly produced by the BBC and the EBU and was live from BBC Television Centre in London. This was the first ever pan-European dance contest and involved the following 16 countries;Austria, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Lithuania, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.

Viewers from these 16 nations cast their votes by telephone and SMS text message voting on each couple’s two dances, one dance had to have a national feel and another could be freestyle.
A number of countries also broadcast the contest despite not taking part they were; Albania, Armenia, Belarus, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Cyprus, France, Iceland, Israel and Macedonia.

The final results were as follows:

  1. Finland – 132 points
  2. Ukraine – 121
  3. Ireland – 95
  4. Poland – 84
  5. Austria – 74
  6. Portugal – 74
  7. Russia – 72
  8. Germany – 59
  9. Spain – 38
  10. Denmark – 38
  11. Lithuania – 35
  12. Netherlands – 34
  13. Greece – 31
  14. Sweden – 23
  15. United Kingdom – 18
  16. Switzerland – 0

Unlike in the Eurovision Song Contest the winning country does not automatically host the next years contest, instead the United Kingdom would host the contest again in 2008 ensuring that the format could be built upon by an experienced broadcaster.

You can read part 2 here.

Leave a Comment